Bluebooks: who needs them? (besides law students)

The newest Bluebook is out, edition number 19, if you are keeping track. The question is, do I really need it for my practice?  [cricket, cricket]

No.  As well put by Raymond Ward:

As a practicing lawyer, here’s what I need to know how to cite, in descending order of importance: statutes, cases, constitutions, treatises, law-review articles, and web pages. Everything I need to know to cite those sources should fit on the front and back of one page. And except for web pages, citation of every one of those sources was covered in the Bluebook I used in law school in the 1980s.

If someone can show me that the Bluebook’s 19th edition will help me cite stuff that (a) I might actually cite in real-world legal practice, and (b) isn’t covered by a citation guide I already own, I might consider buying it. Otherwise, I’ll pass.

(via: The (new) legal writer)

Leave a Reply

