The Last Word on Vampires and the Law…for now

Ok, I promise this will be the last thing I say about the Twilight phenom on this blog.  And I would say anymore, except that a few more things popped up over the weekend, and I thought they merited noting here.

During her Supreme Court confirmation hearing on Wednesday, Solicitor General Elena Kagan was jokingly asked by Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Democrat of Minnesota, for her thoughts on a particularly pressing issue.

Noting the “incredibly grueling day” Ms. Kagan had on Tuesday, Ms. Klobuchar remarked, “I guess it means you missed the midnight debut of the third ‘Twilight’ movie last night.” After some laughter, she added: “We did not miss it in our household, and it culminated in three 15-year-old girls sleeping over at 3 a.m.”

Ms. Kagan said she was not able to see “Eclipse,” but Ms. Klobuchar nonetheless continued, “I keep wanting to ask you about the famous case of Edward versus Jacob or the vampire versus the werewolf.”

“I wish you wouldn’t,” Ms. Kagan said.

“I know you can’t comment on future cases,” Ms. Klobuchar said. “So I’ll leave that alone.”

(via New York Times and Above the Law)

Leave a Reply

