Quote of the day

Edmund Burke

Image via Wikipedia

It is not what a lawyer tells me I may do; but what humanity, reason, and justice tell me I ought to do. (Edmund Burke, 1775)

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “Quote of the day

  1. This is perhaps not the best portrait of Burke, but it is a fine sentiment he expresses. I am one of those few lawyers who actually believes that lawyers, as a professional class, should exercise less influence over the lives of others. Perhaps it is impossible, as the courts will always interpret the rules of society, but the law should not be the monopoly of attorneys.

    • I don’t know that I see that he was making a statement about lawyers so much as he was making a statement about morality. Just because the law says it’s ok doesn’t make it so, is what I hear in this. The law is designed for the lowest common denominator, and he is proposing that there are higher laws by which to live.

      My two-bits.

Leave a Reply

