Daily Archives: March 13, 2011

Bayleaf Cafe: Not Your Average Comfort Food

You’re going to love the Bayleaf Cafe. I don’t know what you’re going to order, but whatever it is, I guarantee you’ll like it.

The two dishes I’ve ordered have been among my favorites, bar none. In fact, if it were closer to home, I’d have breakfast at the Bayleaf Cafe more often.

First, the Trash Plate. It’s just about everything you could want for hearty breakfast–all on one plate. You’ve got hashbrowns, cheese, sausage and bacon and two eggs (I take mine easy over, thanks!) with a choice of toast. It’s hefty, it’s hearty, and but not for the faint of heart (or those with high cholesterol). Be sure to schedule in a trip to the gym later in the day, but believe me: it’s delicious and worth it.

Second, the BBQ Shrimp and Cheese Grits. That’s right! In the same meal. I was a little dubious when I saw it, but at my companion’s urging, I tried it, and I was convinced. The shrimp is cooked just right on the grill with a BBQ flavoring. The grits are great with cheese, not to mention a much needed bit of roughage (especially if you’ve had one too many orders of the Trash).  My meal came with a side of hoppin john, which was a soup of black-eyed peas. Also, very good.

If you can get downtown for breakfast, Bayleaf Cafe (with its quart jar style glasses) is worth it for unique and delicious American style eats.

For more interesting items, check out their menu here or visit Urbanspoon here to learn more.

My other restaurant reviews here. Continue reading

