Newsflash: Book ownership an indicator of education levels – ksl.com

My Better-Half, always alert to improving our children’s chances, sent me an article yesterday. More books around the house will be an indicator how well our kids will do educationally, she said.

According to the link to KSL.com

Children with as few as 25 books in the family household completed on average two more years of schooling than children raised in homes without any books. -Research in Social Stratification and Mobility

That’s right. The more books, the more education your kids are likely to get. Laura Miller, over at Salon, fills in the details (from KSL‘s notably thin story)

The study (authored by M.D.R. Evans, Jonathan Kelley, Joanna Sikorac and Donald J. Treimand) looked at samples from 27 nations, and according to its abstract, found that growing up in a household with 500 or more books is “as great an advantage as having university-educated rather than unschooled parents, and twice the advantage of having a professional rather than an unskilled father.” Children with as few as 25 books in the family household completed on average two more years of schooling than children raised in homes without any books.

The study notes that buying your children twelve books at the beginning of summer break can help deter the educational slide that happens between spring and fall.

Thanks for the tip, I told my wife. However, I don’t think our kids will have a problem putting their hands on any interesting reads. And if twelve is all it takes, we shouldn’t have a problem finding something interesting for the kids to read. If they do, they’ve probably got bigger problems than reading will solve…

I mean, I guess they might not notice the shelves, but really? We buy books the way some women buy shoes.

via Book ownership an indicator of education levels – ksl.com.

5 responses to “Newsflash: Book ownership an indicator of education levels – ksl.com

  1. Have you read the book Outliers – http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0316017922/ref=redir_mdp_mobile/183-4089180-2316569

    He basically says there is nothing you can do to make your kid smarter, most of it is genetics. So if you are the type of person that has lots books in your house then you are more likely to be smart & pass along those genetic traits.

  2. You need a Kindle :)

    Hard to imagine a home without any books, but I suppose that there are far more of them that I suppose.

    I remember all the books my Dad had around the house. I’m not sure I ever read one of them growing up. But I came around to reading eventually.

    Still, I do have to wonder what it says about my intelligence when I keep buying books I could get for free at the libary . . .

    • Hmm, “Libary” . . . now there’s a part of my mom coming out in me :)

      • Seriously. The great thing about the library is that I can “test drive” books I want before I buy. And I do. The great thing is that with the Salt Lake County Library system, you can get almost any book requested sent to the library nearest you.

    • RE: Kindle–I’m not doing it. I just don’t like the format, and I love holding a book. Plus, I can’t get books at the library on a Kindle, otherwise I’d be all over it for the cheap science fiction and fantasy that I use for my brain candy. Plus, you can buy books on Amazon for cheaper than you can for your Kindle.

Leave a Reply

